Version 12 includes a Printer Management
Printer Management is a quick and easy tool that allows users to copy, create, delete, and rename their image printer. While it was possible to create copies of the printer and rename the printer through the Devices and Printer menu with previous versions, users are now able to carry out these activities directly through the Dashboard.
The purpose of Printer Management is to speed up the printing process. By allowing users to set the default profile used by the image printer, the need to select the desired profile during each print job is eliminated.
Launch Printer Management from the Dashboard by selecting “Manage Printers”. On launch, Printer Management will show you all of the existing printer(s), the name of the printer(s), and the default profile currently assigned to each printer. If your image printer has just been installed, there will only be one printer listed and the profile will be set to the default for your image printer.
Printer Management allows users to:
Edit the printer name
The printer name is set by default. This is the name you see in your printer list when printing a document to your image printer software. Using Printer Management the printer name can be changed to any custom name desired by the user or organization. The new name may be a reflection of the conversion function of the printer (ie. “Convert to TIFF”) or the use of the printer within the company (ie. “Save Invoices”). Renaming is particularly relevant when a user has created a copy of the printer or added a new printer, and the two printers serve different functions.
Change the default profile
Version 12 of the image printers uses Profiles, which are a group of settings, to create the output image you want. Personal profiles are created and edited through Profile Manager. Users can select their desired profile to be applied during conversion either on the fly during the printing process on the Save As dialog, or by using the Printer Management utility. The profile assigned to the printer will be set to the default to start. When you print to the image printer, the settings stored in this default profile will automatically be applied to your output file. The default profile used by the printer can be changed to either another one of the system profiles or to one of your personal profiles.
Duplicate the printer or add a new printer
By default, only a single copy of your image printer is created. If you know that you need to use two groups of settings – two profiles – on a regular basis, you may considering creating a second copy of the printer or adding a new the printer instead of continuously changing the profile that is being applied to output files. A common example of this is users that need to create both color and black and white TIFF images.
Delete any unwanted printer(s)
Additional instances of the printer can be deleted at any time through the Printer Management utility. You are required to have at least one instance of the printer and therefore cannot delete an instance of the printer if it is the only remaining instance.
For existing users of earlier versions of our image printers, we encourage you to upgrade to version 12 to discover for yourself all the new features and changes. These changes will make working with your image printer more accessible and efficient, but if you need assistance re-creating your printer settings once you upgrade to version 12 do not hesitate to reach out to the PEERNET team.
If you are new to the PEERNET family of image printers, the best way to get started is by downloading our free trial. This is a fully functional trial with a watermark added to all output files. As always, the PEERNET support team is more than happy to answer any of your questions and help you evaluate the trial.